Tired of Anything But the Woods

I am starting to realize just how physically taxing my work can be, how it might take several days to recover from work days in order to run well.  I do home improvements, and with rare exceptions, I do the work myself.  I do all trades, frame to finish, so sometimes I spend much of my work days kneeling, stooping, squatting, and transitioning from those positions to standing.  Other times, I am climbing or standing on ladder rungs, crawling in an attic or crawlspace, or lifting and carrying things.  Although that sort of work can be physically demanding, it is not the sort of physical activity that makes one fit for running.

Most of the races for which I plan ahead are races that I intend to taper for.  For my most recent race, I had intended to have at least two days off work prior to the race.  That did not happen.  Even though the work I did on Thursday before the Saturday race was not grueling, I spent a lot of time kneeling and rising from a kneeling position.  Prior to Thursday I had trouble doing several workouts because I was tired from work.  I guess I need to quit complaining since I enjoy the runs.  I could manage my work better so that I can do certain workouts and races well rested.  Or I could go back to tutoring or some other job/career change.  Hmmm, that sounds good.  I’m getting tired of my clients anyway.  Tired of work, tired from work, tired of clients.  I draw my energy from good food and being in the woods.  Maybe I should add a career change to my plans.

About riverlaketrail

As a kid, one of my favorite things was to run through the woods--no trails--jumping and ducking, cutting and swerving, pretending to be a deer or wolf. After a few hours, I'd go home dirty, hungry, happy. I don't pretend I'm a deer anymore, but I still enjoy the sensation of running.
This entry was posted in work and running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.